A caesura is an opportunity to pause, to celebrate and to look back: this unusual Georgian, Bavarian, Ingolstadt’s orchestra is now 50 years old. Its history is so changeable, that it hardly fits into one single life. So this orchestra might actually have two complete lives!

For the first 26 years, its location was Tiflis, the capital of Georgia, then it moved to Ingolstadt, where it found a second home, for the last 24 years. But the new life in Bavaria is nothing but a continuation of the old one under different conditions. This continuation is the principle of this very east-European orchestra, that could keep its true character even in exile.

Nearly all of the musicians of the Ingolstadt ensemble come from Georgia, the former Soviet Union, or other east-European countries.

The GKO got founded by an initiative of the composer’s association, with highly talented graduates of the conservatory and members of the Georgian Philharmonic in 1964. The orchestra quickly became an important cultural ambassador for Georgia. Soon the GKO performed at important festivals throughout the country and beyond.

Yes, this ensemble belongs now to the very best chamber orchestras in the world, as the ‘Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung’ stated in the 80s. A highlight in the history of this orchestra is without any doubt, when the famous violin virtuoso Liana Issakadze led the orchestra from 1981 to 1996. This great violinist led – during a performance in Schleswig-Holstein – the orchestra from its war-torn home country into exile. After that, there began a not always easy phase in the history of the orchestra.

As in 2000, Markus Poschner was given the position of the conductor of the GKO, it marked a rising trend for the orchestra. It was the time, when the concept of subscription was developed in Ingolstadt, which became the backbone to all activities of this orchestra.

Markus Poscher was succeeded by Ariel Zuckermann until 2011. Then Lavard Skou Larsen became chief conductor of the orchestra. In 2014, conductor Benjamin Shwartz from Los Angeles will take over the artistic direction of this chamber orchestra. Shwartz was Resident Conductor of the San Francisco Symphony and conducted orchestras such as the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, the Royal Scottish National Orchestra or the Trondheim Symphony Orchestra.

Well-known conductors and a phalanx of excellent international artistic personalities, as David Oistrach, Barbara Hendricks, Sviatoslav Richter or Daniil Shafran had their guest performances, as Heinrich Schiff, Tabea Zimmermann, Juan Diego Florez, Gidon Kremer, Edita Gruberova, Giora Feidman, Eliso Virsaladze, Lynn Harrell, Rudolf Buchbinder, Christian Zacharias, Lisa Batiashvili, François Leleux, Natalia Gutman, Sharon Kam, Diana Damrau, Zoltán Kocsis, Alfredo Perl, the Ensemble KOLSIMCHA, Gilles Apap, Maxim Vengerov, Nikolai Tokarev and Khatia Buniatishvili had in a more recent past. Those all supplied the orchestra with further artistic inspirations.

The Georgian Chamber Orchestra sees itself as an ensemble that is not only responsible for an incredibly broad repertoire, but also as a cultural ambassador of the city of Ingolstadt.

About sixty concerts each year give the orchestra the opportunity to perform at music festivals, such as the ‘Oberstdorfer Musiksommer’ or the ‘Internationales Musikfest Kreuth’, as well as on international stages in Spain, France, Georgia and in Switzerland.

For many years, the ensemble has been a reliable part of the summer concerts, a series of events organized by Audi AG. In 2010, the ensemble was included in the list of orchestras supported by the Bavarian Government.



Programs for tours

after 15th January 2015

„SWISS Made”       

Paul Juon: Suite für Violine, Violoncello und Streichorchester

Fabian Müller: Concerto per Klee für Violoncello und Kammerorchester

Ernest Bloch: Baal Shem (Transkription für Violine und Streichorchester)

Arthur Honegger: Sinfonie Nr. 2

Kamilla Schatz, Violine

Pi-Chin Chien, Violoncello

Ruben Gazarian, Leitung

Besetzung: Str.:, 2 Ob, 2 Hr, 1 Trp


after 19th February 2015

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Divertimento F-Major

Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto in E Minor “La Stravaganza” RV 279

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Concerto in D-Minor for Violin and Strings

Benjamin Britten: Simple Symphony

Edward Grieg: Suite “Aus Holbergs Zeit“

Michael Gutmann, Violine & Leitung

Besetzung: Str.:


after 18th May 2015

Bohuslav Martinu: Concerto für Klaviertrio und  Streichorchester

Bohuslav Martinu: Partita für Streichorchester       

Bohuslav Martinu: Concertino für Klaviertrio und  Streichorchester

Josef Suk: Serenade für Streichorchester

Storioni Trio

Ruben Gazarian, Leitung

Besetzung: Str.:


after 19th June 2015

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Violinkonzert Nr. 2 D-Dur KV 211

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Sinfonie Nr. 35 D-Dur KV 385

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Violinkonzert Nr. 5 A-Dur KV 219

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Sinfonie Nr. 40 g-Moll KV 550

Julian Rachlin, Leitung & Solist

Besetzung: Str.:, Fl, 2 Ob, 2 Fg, 2 Hr, 2 Trp, PK


after 3rd December 2015

Alfred Schnittke: Concerto grosso Nr. 1 für zwei Violinen, Cembalo und Streichorchester

Sergei Prokofjew: Sonate für zwei Violinen


Dmitri Makhtin, Violine

Aiman Musakhodzhaeva, Violine

Ruben Gazarian, Leitung

Besetzung: Str.: